Artwork for Sampath - Top
Artwork for Kingsbury Harbour Court August 2017

About/Contact

YAMU is a (4.5 year old) start-up based in Colombo. Right now, we’re a casual guide to life in the city and Sri Lanka. We visit restaurants, bars and places, trying to separate the good from the bad, the excellent from the extortionate. We've also branched out into original video and content on YAMU.tv.

Things we cover

Think of us as your friend in the city; we’re here to help. We now have an office phone, the number is 0114 233 244. Our office is located at 14/15A Duplication Road, Colombo 4 (just past Vajira Rd, in the Spring & Summer building). It's also about 4 stories up, so expect a work out if you want to visit. If you want you can catch us on Instagram, Snapchat, Facebook, or Twitter


The Team

Indi Samarajiva

Indi is a blogger (www.indi.ca) and co-founder of Kottu, a blog aggregator. He is a Director of YAMU. If you want to talk about something interesting, contact him via indi@yamu.lk or 0777 337 059.

Bhagya Goonewardhane

Bhagya is a business analyst for YAMU. Despite some confusion given his name, he is in fact male. He likes pork and watches tennis, and you can reach him at bhagya@yamu.lk.

Kinita Shenoy

Editor of YAMU and general hooligan, Kinita enjoys puns, beer, and existential crises. Say hello at kinita@yamu.lk or do some lowkey stalking on IG.

Malinthe Samarakoon

Malinthe is the Senior Software Engineer at YAMU and runs our in-house තේ කඩේ. He's a programming wunderkind and also an excellent photographer and blogger. You can reach him at malinthe@yamu.lk.

Buddika Muhandiram

Buddika is an avid hiker and adventurer. He's currently YAMU's main Sinhala language writer. You can contact him at buddika@yamu.lk.

Rishani Sittampalam

Rishani handles Events (Karamu). You can contact her on rishani@yamu.lk.

Viren Dias 

Viren is a soon-to-be programmer and our resident numbers guy. He likes gaming and astronomy when he's not writing. He's contactable at viren@yamu.lk

Chinthaka Aluvihare

Chinthaka is our newest programming recruit. He’s into bikes and works on building new and exciting features on the YAMU site. You can holla at him on chinthaka@yamu.lk

Chandana Prasanna

Chandana does video production and Sinhala content, and was once a man on the run for his political activism. He enjoys sweets, meat, Lion stout and the tears of conservatives. You can reach him at chandana@yamu.lk

Kaveen Rodrigo

Software Engineering is one of his activities at YAMU. Apart from programming, photography and many more rather expensive hobbies, he's known for creating the annoying SiripalaBot and now roams along the streets listening to alternative music while eating kadala off a paper bag. You can also find him on his personal blog Enigma Maker

Vishvi Vidanapathirana

Vishvi has studied IT, and is a Sinhala Writer for YAMU. She adores tigers and since she cannot have one as a pet, she has a cat. Nothing makes her angrier than forgetting her headset when she steps out,and nothing makes her happier than reading her favorite book (Game of Thrones) while plugged into some good music. You can contact her at vishvi@yamu.lk

Sarith Ranasinghe

Sarith is a video editor at YAMU. He loves the thrill of being a creative. You can view his porfolio on Behance. He makes short films during his pastime and is a coffee addict. Contact him at sarith@yamu.lk

Sarah Jauffer

Sarah is one of the new writers on board. She enjoys casting the occasional spell and making yum desserts in order to fatten up the office for slaughter. If you'd like to be a part of her rituals, say hello at sarah@yamu.lk

Prasad Welikumbura

Prasad is our social media guy. He handles our ads, and figures out how to get our content out there into the big bad world. He used to work at the President's Media Division, but then got kicked out for being sassy. You can contact him at prasad@yamu.lk.

Tharaka Abeyratne

A developer/programmer at yamu.lk, Tharaka is also a dope salsa artist (the dance not the sauce). To put a dance or to learn more about our tech end, holla at him on tharaka@yamu.lk