Artwork for KARAMU TOP BANNER

About/Contact

YAMU is a (6 year old) content company based in Colombo. Right now, we’re a casual guide to life in the city and Sri Lanka. We visit restaurants, bars, and places, trying to separate the good from the bad, the excellent from the extortionate. We've also branched out into original video and content on YAMU.tv.

Things we cover

Think of us as your friend in the city; we’re here to help. We now have an office phone, the number is 0779748869.
Our office is located at 14/15A Duplication Road, Colombo 4 (just past Vajira Rd, in the Spring & Summer building). It's also about 4 stories up, so expect a work out if you want to visit. If you want you can catch us on Instagram, Snapchat, Facebook, or Twitter


The Team

Indi Samarajiva

Indi is a blogger (www.indi.ca) and co-founder of Kottu, a blog aggregator. He is a Director of YAMU. If you want to talk about something interesting, contact him via indi@yamu.lk or 0777 337 059.

Bhagya Goonewardhane

Bhagya heads operations at YAMU. Despite some confusion given his name, he is in fact male. He likes pork and watches tennis, and you can reach him at bhagya@yamu.lk.

Malinthe Samarakoon

Malinthe is the Senior Software Engineer at YAMU and runs our in-house තේ කඩේ. He's a programming wunderkind and also an excellent photographer and blogger. You can reach him at malinthe@yamu.lk.

Buddika Muhandiram

Buddika is an avid hiker and adventurer. He's currently YAMU's main Sinhala language writer. You can contact him at buddika@yamu.lk.

Rishani Sittampalam

Rishani handles Events (Karamu). You can contact her on rishani@yamu.lk.

Chinthaka Aluvihare

Chinthaka is our newest programming recruit. He’s into bikes and works on building new and exciting features on the YAMU site. You can holla at him on chinthaka@yamu.lk

Chandana Prasanna

Chandana does video production and the editor for Sinhala content and was once a man on the run for his political activism. He enjoys sweets, meat, Lion stout and the tears of conservatives. You can reach him at chandana@yamu.lk

Vishvi Vidanapathirana

Vishvi is the editor for YAMU. She is a die-hard Game of Thrones fan and enjoys music, games, seafood, pizza, and books. You can contact her at vishvi@yamu.lk. 

Lamindu Hashira

Lamindu is our multimedia content producer. He is obsessed with capturing beautiful moments from his camera, and enjoys Kpop, calm music, green nature, food, and needs internet 24/7 in order to live peacefully. He has a prominent talent in playing multiple music instruments too (piano, guitar, and violin). You can reach out to him through lamindu@yamu.lk. 

Dinesh Hirdaramani

A die-hard fan of Giovanni's Pizza, Polos Cutlet and Black Pork Curry with Thosai (Yes, it's a personal discovery!). Torn apart between Coffee and Tea, he also has a knack for wordplay (aka puns), amateur photography, compeering, budget solo travel and dark chocolate. Our point of contact for all YAMU related Sales and Marketing inquiries. You can contact him via mobile on 0779 748869 and or dinesh@yamu.lk.